LaGuardia Community College Minutes of the Senate Meeting May 14, 2008

Present: M. Abreu, A. Adil, C. Baldonedo, N. Berke, P. Nicolav (for R. Butler), R. Cadeau, J. Cantwell, L. Capuano-Vella, S. Castillo, T. Coogan, D. Davidson, F. Egger-Sider, M. Glick, J.G. Ianni (until 3:02pm), A. Belkharraz (for J. Ianni after 3:02pm), E. Johmann, R. Kahn, S. Khan, W. Kurzyna, T. Litvay-Sardou, S. Mettler, E. Murray, R. Octaviano, A. Pappas, D. Patterson, G. Richmond, E. Rivas, C. Sterling-Deer, L. Teplin, A. Tucker

Ex-officio:

Absent: J. Karlen, A. Khan, T. Nguyen, M. Vega, H. Zhao

Excused: M. Hall

Guests: R. Bandelt, L. Beaky, L. Cohen, J. Orengo, L. Rizo

Nota Bene: For each action summarized in these minutes, the set consisting of those senators who participated in the action forms a subset of those listed as "Present". The specific vote of each senator that participated in an action is contained in the summaries. Unless otherwise noted, the Chairperson abstains from all votes.

Chairperson Teplin called the meeting to order at 2:35 p.m. in room E 501.

I. Approval of Minutes for April 30, 2008

By general consent, the Senate approved the draft version of the minutes of the Senate meeting held on April 30, 2008 with corrections. A revised version including corrections will be sent out college wide. All senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action, except for Senator Adil.

II. Report from the Chairperson

Chairperson Teplin informed the Senate that in accordance with our interim Governance Plan we have another new Senator, Sahar Khan. She welcomed Senator Khan to the senate as a voting member for the first time as the designee representing the Student Government Association. She also informed the senate that the process has begun to conduct elections for an Adjunct Senator and Alternate. As of today we have 8 eligible candidates. Ballots will be sent out shortly through each department. The Executive Committee will also be working with Student Government to fill vacancies and select alternates for the remainder of this Senate year by dipping into the pool of newly elected student senators. Jose Orengo asked for a moment of our time to inform the senate about the budget cuts to CUNY and urged everyone to visit www.supportcuny.org to show your support.

III. Academic Standing Committee Report

The Chairperson, as a member of the Academic Standing Committee presented a revision to the Academic Forgiveness Policy. It was moved and seconded to approve the amendment to the Academic Forgiveness Policy. Motion passed unanimously with 27 votes. All Senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action.

IV. Senate Resolution on the Computer Information Systems Department

Chairperson Teplin presented a resolution that the Senate Executive Committee drafted in response to the situation with the Computer Information Systems Department. After much

discussion, a new resolution was drafted on the floor. It was moved and seconded to approve the following resolution:

WHEREAS the Senate understands its obligation as outlined in the College Governance Plan, Article 1, section 1, Paragraph E, being to safeguard the welfare of Faculty and Students, AND, further, as the dissolution of a Department requires that the Administration consult with the Senate, as listed in Article 3.3 of the Board of Trustees, "Informal Guidelines for the Reorganization or Closure of Academic Programs and Departments", and as the Senate views consultation* as the exchange of points of view over a reasonable period of time having been provided with sufficient information and relevant data, and as such consultation has not yet occurred, IT IS RESOLVED that the Senate rejects the dissolution of the CIS Department at least until such consultation has occurred.

*consultation, n. The Act of asking the advice or opinion of someone (Black's Law Dictionary, p.311)

At this point, (4:20PM) Chairperson Teplin handed the Chair over to Vice Chairperson Baldonedo so that she could vote on the issue. Vice Chairperson Baldonedo called for a vote.

The motion failed with 17 votes in favor and 1 opposed. Senator Murray voted no. Senators Berke, Cadeau, Litvay-Sardou, Pappas, Sterling-Deer and Tucker and Alternate Senators Belkharraz and Nicolav abstained. All senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action except for Senator Baldonedo, serving as Chairperson in that vote.

Vice Chairperson Baldonedo gave back the Chair to Chairperson Teplin (4:21PM).

V. Old Business

Chairperson Teplin informed the Senate that the Committee on Committees had met on May 13, 2008 and elected Bill Kurzyna as Chairperson.

VI. New Business

Senator Murray, Chairperson of the Campus Affairs Committee informed the Senate that the committee has decided that due to the limited number of parking spaces available there will be a lottery for all interested in getting a parking spot. In addition, the price would be increasing.

The meeting adjourned at 4:40 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Anthony Pappas Secretary College Senate

Nota Bene: The Senate approved this final version of these minutes during its meeting of May 28, 2008.